Football presidents: towards a typology of political cultures

Football presidents: towards a typology of political cultures

Webinar (Teams)

Football presidents: towards a typology
of political cultures

September 15th and 16th

Registration is required by mail to jean-michel.de.waele@ulb.be

  • September 15th

– 08h Brasilia / 13h Brussels: Introduction by Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui and Jean-Michel De Waele

– 8h15 Brasilia / 13h15 Brussels: “Roundtable one: Are Football Presidents Symbols of their Communities?

President: Jean-Michel De Waele

  • Enrico Castro Montes, “Presidents of Barcelona SC: Ecuador and Political disputes”.
  • Tommaso Begotti, “‘Il Mago di Campagna’. Paolo Mazza as president of SPAL (1947-1976)”.
  • João Sedas Nunes, “Pinto da Costa, a man of many means – football,l, and society under Portugal’ democratic regime.
  • Robert Adam, “The Highway to Hell: The Downfall of Romanian football President”.

– 9h45 Brasilia / 14H45 Brussels: Questions and discussions

– 10h 15 Brasilia / 15h 15 Brussels: Coffee Break

– 10h30 Brasilia / 15h30 Brussels: “Roundtable Two:  Political Careers on Football: Language, Gender, Power

President: Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui

  • Carmen Rial, Caroline Rocha, “Women’s Football in contexts marked by prohibitions: the trajectory of football club’s presidents in Brazil and France in the 20th century”.
  • Kevin Marston, “A very strong lady… – a biographical sketch of Veronica Chan”.
  • Livia Magalhaes, “From La Bombonera to Casa Rosada: the political games of Maurício Macri”.
  • Jim O’Brien, “The Rise and Rise of Mauricio Macri: Football, Culture and Presidential Politics in Argentina; 1991- 2019”.
  • Sergio Varela Hernández, A team in poverty is a poor team: Politics, power, money, and football according to Hank Rhon”.
  • Andrea Di Ruzza, Traian Sandu, “Silvio Berlusconi and George Becali, two clubs presidents in politics: Soccer and right populism in Italy and Romania”.

– 12h Brasilia / 17h Brussels: Questions and discussions

  • September 16th

 – 08h Brasilia / 13h Brussels: “Roundtable 3:  Football, Politics, and Nationalism

President: Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui

  • Rahul Kumar, “The perfect model of a populist movement. The rise and fall of a Club President”.
  • José Paulo Florenzano, “The revolutionary management of Democracia Corinthiana”.
  • Piotr Siuda, Radosław Kossakowski, Michał Jasny:  “Poland Struggling for fans’ approval: exploring clubs’ presidents and fandoms conflict in Poland – a case study of Zawisza Bydgoszcz”.
  • Daghan Irak, “All the president’s men: Crony-capitalism and sport presidency in Turkey”.
  • Xavier Ginesta, Jordi Badia, “FC Barcelona: Cultural, Political and Sportive legacies of President Josep Suñol i Garriga”.
  • Sean Jacobs, “The African Football President: the rise of Patrice Motsepe”.

– 9h45 Brasilia / 14h45 Brussels: Questions and discussions

– 10h15 Brasilia / 15h15 Brussels:  Coffee Break 

– 10h30 Brasilia / 15h30 Brussels: “Roundtable 4:  Commodification and Professionalism – Historical Perspectives

President: Jean-Michel De Waele

  • Luciano Segreto, Francesco Maccelli, “Towards an economic and political taxonomy of Italian Football Presidents (1960-2000)”.
  • Markwart Herzog, “On the Spirit of Capitalism in Football: Dr. David Rothschild – President of FSV Frankfurt, 1925–28”.
  • Gregory Quin, André Marche, Gianluca Sorrentino, “From locally rooted “philanthropists” to more distant business oriented presidents. The changing sociological background of the presidents of the major Swiss football clubs (1980-2020)”.
  • Christian Brandt, “‘I am the club ‘- Patrons in German lower league football”.
  • Phillipe Vonnard, “Between philanthropical and political goals? The profile of the first presidents of the Association Suisse de football (1895-1933)”.
  • Dries Vanysacker, Biographies and memories on Football Presidents: Networks in Football Club Brugeois (1891-2020)”.

– 12h Brasilia / 17h Brussels: Questions and discussions

– 12h30 Brasilia / 17h30 Brussels: Conclusions by Luiz Guilherme Burlamaqui and Jean-Michel De Waele

Registration is required by mail to jean-michel.de.waele@ulb.be

More: CEVIPOL

Leave a Reply